Skip to content

Woodworking Tips and Tricks – Aid to Gluing Large Surfaces

04/22/2024

I have several products where I have to glue large pieces of plywood face to face.  I had the problem for years when clamping 5 pieces (or even just 2) and the pieces slip around side to side, twist around, one will slide out, etc.  They will NOT stay lined up no matter what you do.  I have had to clamp the pieces back into place and it’s a mess and a rush when the glue is drying and it’s not lined up yet.  I glue up oversized and then cut to size but they need to be fairly close to make it all work out.

I  don’t remember where I saw this trick but it changed my glue ups completely.  Salt.  Yes, just regular table salt.  I have a small salt shaker with some in it.  I roll the glue on with a brayer, and then shake a little salt on the glue about 1″ in from each corner.  It doesn’t take much.  Then place the next piece on top and repeat as needed.  When you clamp, the salt crystals dig in and won’t allow the wood to shift.  Clamped tight enough and I think the salt crystals finally crush after they have done their work.  I have yet to see any downside to this, like a gap from the height of the crystals or it affecting the glue.  If you use just a little bit, like 2 shakes from the shaker, I don’t think it’s a problem.   It’s amazing…what a difference and it took the frustration out of my glue-ups.

I don’t know if sugar will work, haven’t tried it.  I think maybe the sugar crystals are too soft and won’t last long enough in crystal shape to do any good.  Or maybe they will soften quickly because the water in the glue.

Hope this helps some, taking the frustration out of your day!

One Comment
  1. Anonymous permalink

    now thats a new one But a great idea.

Leave a comment